Une maison d'artistes

A home of artists

La Grande Maison « Chez Jules & Léonie »

A certain place to discover, a spiritual home, a charming village in the protected environment of the Natural Regional Park of the French Vexin, in the north of the Île-de-France region.

Family home since the beginning, "Chez Jules & Léonie" has retained an authentic charm, reinforced by the assiduous frequentations of artists and writers, lovers of art and walks.

Artists painters and musicians, authors, including Georges Duhamel, rubbed shoulders here with General de Gaulle, for example, in 1949. This place, inhabited by an ancient and profound soul, has a garden drawn against the plateau d’Auvers sur Oise, and a vast and calm courtyard. Located in the heart of the village, the house has 4 guest rooms, one of which is accessible for disabled guests. A cottage-studio completes the offer for guests who prefer their independence. Built essentially in the 19th century, the house forms a coherent and harmonious ensemble between an old wing of the eighteenth century and a rehabilitated part in the twentieth century. A spirit of openness and sharing around values of respect for nature, cultural and artistic exchanges, creates this unique ecotouristic and cultural residential offer in the village.

This project is born from the will to resurrect this family and friendly house in a spirit of openness and sharing around the values of respect for nature, cultural and artistic exchanges, but also to dynamise the touristic and cultural offer of the village, in an area of the Natural Park of French Vexin where needs of authentic and charming accommodation appear more and more necessary.

It is also about allowing the development of a local economy, respectful of the natural and human environment.

Deliberately thought in harmony with nature and the environment, space has been designed with the criteria of sustainable development to make it a place of quality stay, on the theme of friendship and love for art.

In fact, it was through to the friendship of Daubigny, who stayed several years in Valmondois during his childhood, that my ancestor Victor Geoffroy-Dechaume, a fellow student at the Beaux-Arts in Paris, came to Valmondois for the first time in 1838.

The two friends came back frequently, and bought a house there. Later, Geoffroy-Dechaume, a close friend of Daumier, brought him to Valmondois to live in peace in a small house with an artist’s studio bought for him by his friends, including Camille Corot.

The bedrooms of the house are named in order to pay tribute to these four French artists of the nineteenth century who lived in Valmondois and its region, or frequented the village and its surroundings like Vincent Van Gogh and many others.

On certain occasions, the house may become an artistic residence, especially during festivals organized in the French Vexin, and a place for exchanges, for example small "seminars", "school trips", painting or cooking classes and other tastings of wines, and themed weekends or "unusual routes".

Chez Jules & Léonie
Place Honoré Daumier 59, grande rue
95760 Valmondois
Phone: + 33 134695160
Repères : 

The cottage-studio

Fully equipped independent space with a kitchen, a bathroom and a veranda.

Capacity: up to 4 people (2 double beds)

Surface area: 42 m²

Pets non accepted (except special cases, and after the owners agreement)

Bed and breakfast

Capacity: 11 people (1 double bedroom – family suite, 2 double bedrooms, 1 double bedroom accessible to disabled guests)

Possibility to add a baby crib

The house has a living room with a piano and a large dining room with an open kitchen. The space can be privatized on request for family, friends or business events.

Spoken languages by the owner: French, English

Une maison d'artistes

La Grande Maison

La Grande Maison « Chez Jules & Léonie »

Un lieu, un esprit, un village, un environnement protégé dans le parc naturel régional du Vexin Français, au nord de la région d’Île-de-France.

Maison familiale depuis l’origine, « Chez Jules & Léonie » a gardé un charme authentique, renforcé par les fréquentations assidues d’artistes et d’écrivains, amateurs d’art et de promenades.

Des artistes peintres et musiciens, des auteurs, dont Georges Duhamel, y ont côtoyé le Général de Gaulle, par exemple, en 1949. Ce lieu, habité d’une âme ancienne et profonde, dispose d’un jardin dessiné adossé au plateau d’Auvers sur Oise, et d’une cour vaste et calme. Située au cœur du village, la maison compte  4 chambres d’hôtes, dont une accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite. Un gîte-studio complète l’offre pour des hôtes qui préfèrent l’indépendance. Bâtie essentiellement au XIXème siècle, la maison forme un ensemble cohérent et harmonieux entre une aile ancienne du XVIIIe et une partie réhabilitée au XXe. Un état d’esprit d’ouverture et de partage autour des valeurs de respect de la nature, d’échanges culturels et artistiques, crée une offre écotouristique et culturelle au village.

Ce projet est né de la volonté de faire vivre cette maison familiale et amicale dans un état d’esprit d’ouverture et de partage autour des valeurs de respect de la nature, d’échanges culturels et artistiques, et aussi de dynamiser l’offre touristique et culturelle du village, dans un secteur du Parc Naturel du Vexin Français où des besoins d’hébergements authentiques et de charme apparaissent de plus en plus nécessaires.

Il s’agit aussi de permettre le développement d’une économie de proximité, respectueuse de l’environnement naturel et humain.

Délibérément pensé en harmonie avec la nature et l’environnement, l’espace a été conçu avec les critères du développement durable pour en faire un lieu de séjour de qualité, sur la thématique de l’amitié.

En effet, c’est grâce à l’amitié de Daubigny, en nourrice à Valmondois dans son enfance, que mon ancêtre Victor Geoffroy-Dechaume, étudiant aux Beaux-Arts de Paris, vint pour la première fois à Valmondois en 1838.

Les deux amis y revinrent fréquemment et y achetèrent chacun une maison. Plus tard, Geoffroy-Dechaume, ami proche de Daumier, fit venir celui-ci à Valmondois pour y vivre en paix dans une petite maison avec atelier achetée grâce à ses amis, dont Camille Corot.

Les chambres de la maison rendent hommage à ces artistes importants de l’art français du XIXe siècle qui ont vécu ou fréquenté Valmondois et sa région, à côté de Vincent Van Gogh et beaucoup d’autres.

À l’occasion, la maison pourra devenir une résidence artistique, en particulier lors des festivals organisés dans le Vexin Français, et un lieu d’échanges, par exemple pour des « séminaires », des « classes découverte », des cours de cuisine et autres dégustations de vins, miels, spécialités, des week-ends à thème ou des « parcours insolites ».

Chez Jules & Léonie
Place Honoré Daumier 59, grande rue
95760 Valmondois
Tél. : 0134695160
Repères : 

Gite-studio

Espace tout équipé indépendant avec cuisine, wc, salle de bains et véranda. Capacité : Jusqu’à 4 personnes (2 couchages doubles)
Surface : 42 m².
Animaux non acceptés (sauf cas particulier après accord du propriétaire).

Chambres d’hôtes

Capacité : 10 personnes (1 chambre double - suite familiale, 2 chambres doubles, 1 chambre double accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite)
Possibilité d’un lit pour Bébé.

La maison dispose d'un salon et d'une vaste salle à manger avec cuisine ouverte. L'espace est privatisable sur demande pour des réunions familiales, amicales ou professionnnelles.

Langues parlées par le propriétaire : Anglais